Trade Agreement Between South Africa And Mauritius

Improved trade opportunities for goods: The EPA guarantees duty- and quota-free access to the EU market for Botswana, Lesotho, Mozambique, Namibia and Eswatini. South Africa benefits from new market access compared to the EU-South Africa Trade, Development and Cooperation Agreement (TDCA), which currently governs trade relations with the EU until October 2016 (when the EPA entered into force provisionally, thus eliminating the trade component of the TDCA). The new access includes better trading conditions, particularly in the agriculture and fisheries sector, notably for wine, sugar, fishery products, flowers and fruit cans. The EU will benefit from significant new access to the Southern African Customs Union (wheat, barley, cheese, meat products and butter) and will be guaranteed a bilateral agreement with Mozambique, one of the least developed countries in the region. The Interim Economic Partnership Agreement between the EU and Madagascar, Mauritius, Seychelles and Zimbabwe includes: Mauritius is a beneficiary of the Generalised System of Preferences (GSP) offered by Japan, Norway, Switzerland, the United States and the Customs Union of Belarus, Kazakhstan and Russia. Mauritius is a member of the Free Trade Agreement of the Common Market for Eastern and Southern Africa (COMESA) and the Southern African Development Community (SADC). The Indian Ocean Commission (IOC) brings together the Comoros, Madagascar, Mauritius, RĂ©union and Seychelles to promote diplomatic, economic and trade relations between the islands. Currently, only products traded between Mauritius and Madagascar that comply with the IOC`s rules of origin have duty-free access. Mauritius has a free trade agreement with Turkey and a preferential trade agreement with Pakistan. Mauritius can also benefit from trade preferences with the European Union under the Interim Economic Partnership Agreement. In August 2009, four of these countries signed the agreement (Madagascar, Mauritius, Seychelles and Zimbabwe). They have applied it provisionally since 14 May 2012. The Comoros signed the agreement in July 2017.

It ratified it and began to implement it in February 2019. Mauritius is entitled to trade benefits under the African Growth and Opportunity Act (AGOA), which provides duty-free and quota-free access to the U.S. market for more than 6,000 products from eligible sub-Saharan Africa. For more information about AGOA, you can get online. The export of clothing from Mauritius to the United States in materials imported from any country is exempt from customs duties, in accordance with the AGOA Third Country Fabric Commission. In 2015, the United States extended AGOA until September 30, 2025. In July 2020, the World Bank classified Mauritius as high income due to the economic impact of the Covid 19 pandemic, but added that it would likely downgrade The Mauricie region in July 2021. High-income status triggers AGOA graduation after a two-year grace period. The interim EPA contains a rendezvous clause for the negotiation of other trade-related areas, such as rules and commitments in the areas of services and investment, sustainable development and competition (known as the “deepening process”).